GERO | Flexible Identity and App

Gero—a Progressive Brand Needs a Flexible Identity

Gero, a Russian healthcare startup, developed a new technology that uses mathematical models to detect age-related diseases at an early stage. Therefore, Gero needed a flexible corporate design that was particularly intended to reflect the progressive positioning in the highly innovative and dynamic market for quantified self back then. The generative logo uses movement data from a tracking wristband and generates a constantly changing abstract tree of life in real time.


Data Driven Design

As a basis for the design, the daily activities of the users are analyzed. After an intensive kick-off workshop in a dacha outside Moscow, we designed a generative look and feel. In parallel, we created app designs that would mesh the corporate design as closely as possible with the product and its interaction logic.

gero_logotypes_test2

A Vivid Logo

The three axes of the figurative logo refer to the tree of life as part of the mythology of many peoples, symbolizing beneficial living conditions and enabling even the weaker to live well. These axes are in constant motion, reflecting not only the activity of the GERO community at the overall brand level, but also that of each individual member in the application. Each axis corresponds in real time to one of the three spatial axes (x, y, z), while the colors are derived from the overall health of the community.

gero_logo_content

The mirrored 3 infuses the typography with a progressive, tech-savvy element that fits the brand’s product category and positioning. At the same time, it evokes the Greek letter sigma, which is used in mathematics as a summation sign. And indeed, the logo is just that: the sum of all the data from the Gero community.

gero_iphone

The logo for Gero was selected “one of 50 masterpieces of logo design” by Steven Heller and Gail Anderson in 2019.

gero_50_logos

What Can We Design For You?

If you would like to learn more about our services, please contact us. We will be glad to show you our extensive portfolio of digital products and services.

GERO | Generatives Logo, CD und Mobile App

Eine flexible Identität für eine
progressive Marke

Marco Spies, Co-founder & Managing Partner
von Marco Spies, Co-founder & Managing Partner

Gero, ein russisches Healthcare Startup, hat eine neue Technologie entwickelt, die es erlaubt, mittels mathematischer Modelle altersbedingte Krankheiten frühzeitig zu erkennen. Wir entwickelten ein flexibles Corporate Design, das die progressive Positionierung in dem zu der Zeit hochgradig innovativen und dynamischen Markt für Quantified Self widerspiegeln sollte. Das generative Logo verwendet Bewegungsdaten aus einem Tracking Armband um in Echtzeit einen sich ständig verändernden abstrakten Lebensbaum zu generieren.

Design

Data Driven Design

Basis ist die Analyse der täglichen Aktivitäten des Benutzers. Nach einem intensiven Kickoff-Workshop in einer Datscha ausserhalb von Moskau, entwickelten wir ein generatives Erscheinungsbild. Parallel entstanden Appentwürfe, Ziel war es das CD möglichst eng mit dem Produkt und seiner Interaktionslogik zu verzahnen.

gero_logotypes_test2
Logo

Ein lebendes Logo

Die drei Achsen des figurativen Logos verweisen auf das mythische Symbol des Lebensbaums, ein weit verbreiteter Archetyp in den Mythologien der Welt, der günstige Lebensbedingungen symbolisiert, die auch schwachen Kreaturen ein gutes Leben sichern. Sie sind in ständiger Bewegung und spiegeln die Aktivität der GERO-Community auf Gesamtmarkenebene und die persönliche Aktivität jedes Mitglieds in der Anwendung wider. Jede Achse entspricht in Echtzeit einer von drei Raumachsen (x, y, z). Die Farben werden basierend auf dem allgemeinen Gesundheitszustand der Gemeinschaften erzeugt.

gero_logo_content

Die gespiegelte "3" in der Typologie bringt ein progressives, technoides Element ein, das zur Produktkategorie und zur Positionierung der Marke passt. Es erinnert auch an das griechische Sigma, das Zeichen für die Summe. Und tatsächlich ist das Logo genau das: die Summe aller Daten aus der Gero-Community.

gero_iphone