Conversational User Interface Design

The future of branded interactions

Isabel Hillenbrand, Senior Strategic Designer
by Isabel Hillenbrand, Senior Strategic Designer

The way we communicate has transformed beyond all recognition over the past decades. Today, we as customers have the potential to communicate with brands in the same way we do with friends and family. The use of speech is the most natural form of interaction in most applications. Advances in artificial intelligence and speech recognition and synthesis technologies have driven the development of text-based chatbots and voice-based virtual assistants such as Siri, Alexa, Cortana and Google Assistant in recent years.
Such systems are now also relevant to brands for booking tickets, selling products, answering support queries or making new services available to customers. However, a conversational user interface only makes sense if it really makes life easier for the user. A related question for brands is to what extent they should develop their own voice assistants or use an existing platform provider (e.g. Amazon with Alexa) for their voice-based services.

Value of CUI

Are branded conversations the right thing for your brand?

Ultimately, this question can only be answered by considering the customer journey and the specific usage situation. In general, conversational user interfaces are useful if the user requires advice, assistance, support or encouragement. Text- or voice-based chatbots can be used for frequently repeated questions, medical anamnesis or consulting – giving the user the information he or she needs, step by step, in dialogue form. Voice user interfaces are particularly suitable when users want to keep their hands and eyes free for other tasks such as driving, cooking or typing and quickly require a piece of information, want to set an alarm or hear the weather forecast. That’s why voice interfaces fit better into everyday routines than graphical user interfaces, and why voice assistants continue to gain momentum . Now’s the time to consider the benefits of branded conversations for your users and ultimately, for the future of your brand.

Personality

Why your chatbot’s personality should fit your brand

Conversational user interfaces provide plenty of scope for shaping a brand's personality. The same applies vice versa: If the behaviour of a chatbot or voice assistant doesn't reflect the expected brand behaviour, the application doesn't contribute to the forming of a consistent brand image. It's important that brands remain authentic in the conversational domain. To this end, brands must expand both their design principles and their UX strategy to remain distinct with a strong, independent character that responds to the user’s context.

Chatbots and voice assistants involve the user more than other means of communication and can therefore appear extremely personal and approachable. More than with any other medium, with chatbots and voice assistants the brand personality is the user experience. How do we encounter the brand as a chatbot? As a friend? An assistant? A challenger? A trainer? At think moto we usually derive the conversational personality from a brand's archetypical role on the market, which it has to relate to, although in many cases it will not be identical with the brand's overall personality.

cui_flyiin

In 2017, we developed our first messaging chatbot as a concept and prototype for the e-travel startup flyiin. Our emphasis was on the contextual guidance of dialogues according to previously-defined personality traits.

Dialogue

Dialogue scripting and prototyping

Last year, we began working with a leading German automobile manufacturer on the development of its voice assistant's personality and a conversational design fiction. In a series of four stakeholder workshops with a multidisciplinary team of business and brand strategists, UX and UI designers as well as service and interior designers, we analysed the requirements and needs from the customer, brand and business point of view, defined competence domains for the assistant and, finally, a series of user stories. Assuming our voice assistant had empathy and the ability to learn, we also defined a corridor within the personality profile that determined the degree of adaptation of the assistant to the user. On this basis, we developed and recorded prototypical dialogues together with a screenwriter and professional speakers. Given that we were creating a design fiction for conversational design, the result was a hypothetical vision of the possibilities of human-machine interaction in the next five years.

tonstudio1
tonstudio2
How to get started

5 steps to your first branded conversation

  1. Discover: Identify your users and their requirements and prioritise use cases. Understand your business objectives and see if they can be achieved with a conversational interface.
  2. Define: Develop a branded conversation persona that is aligned with the brand and transfer it to relevant design dimensions including voice, style of speech, actions, sounds and visualisation. Don't forget to define the domains of knowledge and skills as well as the touch points where the chatbot or voice assistant should be reachable. Performance KPI help you measure your success later.
  3. Design: Define actions and develop exemplary dialogue flows as well as sounds, visualisation and if necessary the voice(s) of a language assistant. Test the interactions with users and refine them accordingly.
  4. Deliver: Deliver: Implement your dialogues in tools like Google's Dialogflow, LivePerson's LiveEngage or IBM's Watson, and integrate them on the relevant platforms.
  5. Distribute: Continuous testing, measurement and optimisation is just as much a part of chatbots and voice assistants as it is in any other digital project. AI-based systems are constantly learning, but also make sure you actively expand their skills and to regularly review their brand fit as well as the performance of your branded conversations and iterate continuously. Guidelines help ensure the quality of responses.
The future

Conversational UIs are changing the game

Conversations are here to stay. And it goes further: while e-commerce and online customer service have generally reached their limits, conversational experiences will push the frontier in commerce and customer service.

You can read more from us on conversational UI over on our Medium or in our book Branded Interactions.

Contact

What can we design for you?

If you want to be a part of this exiting journey, drop us a line at hi@thinkmoto.de. We look forward to hearing from you.

Conversational User Interface Design
Intro

Conversational User Interface Design – markengerechte Konversationen

Isabel Hillenbrand, Senior Strategic Designer at think moto
von Isabel Hillenbrand, Senior Strategic Designer at think moto

Die Art und Weise, wie wir kommunizieren, hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten drastisch verändert. Heute haben wir als Kunden die Möglichkeit, mit Marken so zu kommunizieren, wie wir es von Freunden und Familie gewohnt sind. In der Regel ist die Verwendung von Sprache die natürlichste Form der Interaktion. Dank der Fortschritte in den Bereichen künstliche Intelligenz, Spracherkennung und -synthese hat die Entwicklung von textbasierten Chatbots und sprachbasierten virtuellen Assistenten wie Siri, Alexa, Cortana und Google Assistant in den letzten Jahren große Schritte nach vorne gemacht.

Solche Systeme sind heute auch für Markenunternehmen relevant, um Tickets zu buchen, Produkte zu verkaufen, Supportanfragen zu beantworten oder neue Dienstleistungen für Kunden bereitzustellen. Eine dialogorientierte Benutzeroberfläche ist jedoch nur dann sinnvoll, wenn sie dem Nutzer das Leben wirklich erleichtert. Eine damit verbundene Frage für Marken ist, inwieweit sie eigene Sprachassistenten entwickeln oder einen bestehenden Plattformanbieter (z.B. Amazon mit Alexa) für ihre sprachbasierten Dienste nutzen sollten.

cui_chat
Relevanz-Check

Sind markenkonforme Konversationen das Richtige für Sie?

Diese Frage kann letztendlich nur unter Berücksichtigung der Customer Journey und der spezifischen Nutzungssituation beantwortet werden. Im Allgemeinen sind dialogorientierte Benutzeroberflächen sinnvoll, wenn der Nutzer Rat, Hilfe, Unterstützung oder Ermunterung benötigt. Text- oder sprachbasierte Chatbots können für häufig wiederkehrende Fragen oder auch in der medizinischen Anamnese und der Kundenberatung eingesetzt werden – und geben dem Benutzer in Dialogform Schritt für Schritt die Informationen, die er benötigt. Conversational User Interfaces eignen sich besonders dann, wenn die Benutzer ihre Hände und Augen für andere Aufgaben wie z.B. Fahren, Kochen oder Tippen frei haben wollen und schnell eine Information benötigen, einen Alarm einstellen oder die Wettervorhersage hören wollen. Dies ist der Grund, weshalb Voice Interfaces besser in den Alltag passen als grafische Interfaces und weshalb Sprachassistenten immer mehr an Dynamik gewinnen.
Es gibt also keinen besseren Zeitpunkt als heute, um über den Mehrwert von Branded Conversations für Ihre Nutzer und letztlich Ihr Unternehmen nachzudenken.

Persönlichkeit

Warum die Persönlichkeit Ihres Chatbots Ihrer Marke entsprechen sollte

Conversational Interfaces bieten viel Raum für die Gestaltung der Persönlichkeit einer Marke. Umgekehrt besteht das Risiko eines inkonsistenten Markenimages, wenn das Verhalten eines Chatbots oder Sprachassistenten nicht dem erwarteten Markenverhalten entspricht. In Summe ist es wichtig, dass Marken auch in den Conversational Touchpoints authentisch bleiben. Zu diesem Zweck müssen Sie sowohl Ihre Designprinzipien als auch Ihre UX-Strategie erweitern, um sich mit einem starken, unabhängigen Charakter, der auf den Kontext des Nutzers angemessen reagiert, zu differenzieren.

Chatbots und Sprachassistenten sind um einiges interaktiver als andere Kommunikationsmittel und können daher äußerst persönlich und zugänglich erscheinen. Mehr als bei jedem anderen Medium entspricht im Fall von Chatbots und Sprachassistenten die Markenpersönlichkeit dem Nutzererlebnis. Wie nehmen wir den Chatbot einer bestimmten Marke wahr? Als Freund? Als Assistent? Als Herausforderer? Als Trainer? Bei think moto leiten wir die Persönlichkeit eines Chatbots oder Sprachassistenten in der Regel aus der archetypischen Rolle einer Marke auf dem Markt ab, auf die sie sich beziehen sollte, obwohl sie nicht mit der Persönlichkeit der gesamten Marke identisch sein muss.

cui_flyiin

2017 entwickelten wir unseren ersten Messaging-Chatbot als Konzept und Prototyp für das E-Travel-Startup flyiin. Unser Schwerpunkt lag auf der kontextuellen Führung von Dialogen nach zuvor definierten Persönlichkeitsmerkmalen.

Dialoge

Dialoge schreiben und prototypen

Im vergangenen Jahr haben wir mit einem führenden deutschen Automobilhersteller an der Entwicklung der Persönlichkeit seines Sprachassistenten und einer Conversational Design Fiction gearbeitet. In einer Serie von vier Stakeholder-Workshops mit einem multidisziplinären Team von Business- und Markenstrategen, UX- und UI-Designern sowie Service- und Interior-Designern haben wir die Anforderungen und Bedürfnisse aus Kunden-, Marken- und Business-Sicht analysiert, Kompetenzbereiche für den Assistenten definiert und schließlich eine Reihe von User Stories erstellt. Unter der Annahme einer Empathie und Lernfähigkeit des Sprachassistenten haben wir zudem einen Korridor innerhalb des Persönlichkeitsprofils bestimmt, der den Grad der Anpassung des Assistenten an den Benutzer definiert. Auf dieser Basis haben wir gemeinsam mit einem Drehbuchautor und professionellen Sprechern prototypische Dialoge entwickelt und aufgenommen. So entstand eine Design Fiction für das Conversational Design der Marke – eine hypothetische Vision der Möglichkeiten im Bereich Mensch-Maschine Interaktion in den nächsten fünf Jahren.

tonstudio1
tonstudio2
How to get started

5 Schritte zu Ihrem ersten Chatbot oder Sprachassistenten

  1. Discover: Identifizieren Sie Ihre Nutzer und deren Anforderungen und priorisieren Sie die Use Cases. Werden Sie sich über Ihre Geschäftsziele klar und prüfen Sie, ob diese mit einem Conversational Interface erreicht werden können.
  2. Define: Entwickeln Sie eine Persönlichkeit für Ihr Conversational Interface, die auf die Marke abgestimmt ist, und übertragen Sie sie auf die relevanten Designdimensionen wie Stimme, Sprachstil, Aktionen, Sounds und Visualisierung. Vergessen Sie nicht, die Wissensdomänen und Fähigkeiten zu festzulegen und definieren Sie die Touchpoints, an denen der Chatbot oder Sprachassistent erreichbar sein soll. KPIs für die Performance helfen Ihnen später den Erfolg zu messen.
  3. Design: Definieren Sie Aktionen und entwickeln Sie beispielhafte Dialogabläufe sowie Sounds, Visualisierung und ggf. die Stimme(n) eines Sprachassistenten. Testen Sie die Interaktionen mit Nutzern und entwickeln Sie sie entsprechend weiter.
  4. Deliver: Implementieren Sie ihre Dialoge in Tools wie Googles Dialogflow, LivePersons LiveEngage oder IBMs Watson und integrieren Sie sie auf den relevanten Plattformen.
  5. Distribute: Das kontinuierliche Testen, Messen und Optimieren gehört bei Chatbots und Sprachassistenten genauso dazu, wie in jedem anderen digitalen Projekt. KI-basierte Systeme lernen ständig hinzu, aber erweitern Sie auch aktiv die Fähigkeiten und prüfen Sie regelmäßig die Markenpassung. Guidelines helfen, die Qualität der Responses sicher zu stellen.
Ausblick

Conversational UIs verändern die Markenerlebnisse

Conversational Design ist kein kurzfristiger Hype. Die zugrundeliegenden Technologien werden ständig besser – schon heute sind sinnvolle Anwendungen realisierbar, die für den Nutzer echte Mehrwerte schaffen. Während E-Commerce und Online-Kundenservice im Allgemeinen an ihre Grenzen stoßen, werden Conversational Experiences neue Geschäftsfelder erschließen.

Wenn Sie mit uns auf diese spannende Reise gehen möchten, kontaktieren Sie uns gerne!

Lesen Sie mehr über Conversational Interfaces auf Medium oder in unserem Standardwerk zur Markenführung Branded Interactions – Lebendige Markenerlebnisse für eine neue Zeit .